top of page

SHAKY

SUBJECT

MATTER

FEZ BARLOW AND SHAKY
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Shakysubjectmatter. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

Studio 306 

Polo IL

555-555-5555

  • facebook
TV Remote
Home: Contact
Search
Writer's pictureShaky Subjectmatter

DRAC BIT ME YEARS AGO!

A nine year old kid in Chicago does not have a lot of independence. The one place we did was the corner store, a place of almost mythical lore.

Rumors would start to spread through the neighborhood about new products like Star Wars cards, Wacky Packages, or Wacky Wafers. Once told kids would search in their rooms, couch cushions, and empty lots for pop bottles for change to hit up the corner store. I was lucky there were two stores close by the house. Jullie's 3 blocks to the left and Joe's two blocks straight up. Sometimes just sometimes you could discover a new candy that hit the shelf and be the one to tell everyone about the next big thing. That is what happened when I rode my bike to Joe's and found Drac Snax.

The package caught my then nine year old eyes. With out hesitation i bought a bag the hopped on my blue Schwinn Stingray and raced home to show my friends. How cool it was to talk about the pieces and which is a better monster and which tastes better. Topps could not have put these out at a better time it was 1979 Dracula was all over that year you can hear all about it on my podcast Dracula 79 here: https://www.podbean.com/media/share/pb-85i3v-9bc99f


But as things go they disappeared as fast as they appeared.Drac Snax's went into the the box of memories in my brain on top of that old Famous Monsters with Love At first Bite on the cover and under my Mego Spider-Man. Ha what a great time it was to be a kid.

Did you guys ever find a novelty candy that stands out in your mind that you never forgot?

let me know in the comments.

84 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page