top of page

SHAKY

SUBJECT

MATTER

FEZ BARLOW AND SHAKY
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Shakysubjectmatter. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

Studio 306 

Polo IL

555-555-5555

  • facebook
TV Remote
Home: Contact
Search
Writer's pictureShaky Subjectmatter

Small Towns And Smoke Detectors

A few years ago I had a house fire. A lightning strike caused it everything was fine. When the house was repaired, smoke detectors were hardwired into the house. So last night when i arrived home from work the alarm was chirping. Not chirping like a bird in the morning more like the guy with an air horn at a football game cheering for the other team. No big deal all you got to do is press the button and reset it right wrong, even though its hard wired it still has a battery that needs to be replaced.



So I went to work in fixing this problem. First I look up and say who puts a smoke detector in the room towards the back at an angle right under your furniture. You never notice these things until things go wrong kinda like finding out there is no air in the sapre til the other tires flat. So I grab my trusty step stool. Only the step tool is not tall enough to reach the oddly placed detector. Well it's now 1AM and I go and grab a kitchen chair to stand on. The chair was high enough to reach it the whole time the detectors was Chirping at me mocking me letting me know i should have done this when the announcement was on the news to replace your smoke detector battery.


At his point I remove the battery cover to see whats in the the detector. A 9 Volt, know the night is done. Being in a small town nothing is open until the morning sure I looked in the battery drawer

desperately hoping to find the right one, but alas it was not there. After looking through all my other devices to see if their battery would fit, I noticed the detector stop chirping. Victory I thought to myself and moved the chair back in place and went to bed.




8:30AM the chirping starts again I stumble downstairs, put on my slippers and go to the Dollar General and get the battery. Get home, move the furniture, grab the kitchen chair and replace the battery. The chirpiing has stopped life is back to normal for now I know that's it's going to happen again without warning. so this weekend im picking up some more batteries and changing them all. Don't let this happen to you change your Smoke detectors battery on your time or when the fire department recommends it, or you could do it at 1AM when get home from work.

Shaky


the Shaky Subjectmatter Podcast

shakysubjectmatter@gmail.com


13 views0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page